Amazing artistry, beloved favorites, and exciting new discoveries are all in store in these concerts featuring brilliant Grammy Award-winning violinist Augustin Hadelich as soloist and leader. The concerts begin with Bach’s magnificent Concerto for Violin and Oboe, spotlighting Principal Oboe Jonathan Fischer. Then, Hadelich performs Shostakovich’s bold and dynamic Sonata for Violin, Percussion, and Strings and the sparkling Prelude from Bach’s Partita No. 3. To close, Hadelich shares a beautiful concerto by Joseph Boulogne, Chevalier de Saint-Georges, the son of a slave who went on to become one of the most important violinists and composers in Paris.

This program does not have an intermission.

Socially distanced mezzanine seats are now available for September and October Classical Series performances. Purchase online or call the Patron Services Center at 713.224.7575.

Health & Safety Update: Face coverings are currently required inside Jones Hall. View our latest safety updates

Before the concert: Learn more about the program

Student Tickets: This concert is eligible for students to attend at a discounted rate. Visit our Student Tickets page for more information.

How to View the Concert Livestream Video
On the day before the concert, ticketholders will receive an email with a link to the video. We recommend you access the link at least 10 minutes before the concert begins. If you do not receive a link, please check your spam or junk folder.


There are no upcoming dates for this event.


J. S. BACH Double Concerto for Violin and Oboe
SHOSTAKOVICH/M. ZINMAN-A. PUSHKAREV Sonata for Violin, Percussion, and String Orchestra
J. S. BACH Prelude from Partita No. 3 for Solo Violin
C. de SAINT-GEORGES Violin Concerto No. 2


2024–25 Subscriptions On Sale Now!

Subscribe today for savings, priority seating, presale access to Yo-Yo Ma, and special perks!