Tchaikovsky confessed that he had put “his whole soul” into his final symphony, and for the listener, it’s an enthralling experience that awakens us to a universe of emotion. Music Director Juraj Valčuha leads this poignant masterpiece, known for its haunting ending that fades to black. A special program celebrating the legacy of former Houston Symphony Chief Conductor Sir John Barbirolli also includes Paul Creston’s Dance Overture and Prokofiev’s lyrical Violin Concerto No. 1, with Houston favorite Augustin Hadelich.

Buy this concert as part of a Pick Your Own subscription & save >

RUN TIME: 1 hour, 30 minutes
PRICE RANGE: $29 – $144

Listen to an excerpt ahead of the concert: Tchaikovsky 6 Pathetique: II. Allegro con grazia


There are no upcoming dates for this event.


CRESTON Dance Overture
PROKOFIEV Violin Concerto No. 1
TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 6, Pathétique


2024–25 Subscriptions On Sale Now!

Subscribe today for savings, priority seating, presale access to Yo-Yo Ma, and special perks!