Romanian virtuoso Alexandra Dariescu joins the orchestra for Grieg’s famous Piano Concerto, a guaranteed crowd-pleaser adored for its memorable tunes and dramatic flair. Kafka’s Dream fuses “trance-like stillness and tumultuous forward motion” (The Telegraph). And, breathtaking visions of Rome are rendered with a palette of spectacular orchestral colors in Respighi’s beloved Fountains of Rome and Pines of Rome.

RUN TIME: 1 hour, 45 minutes

Encore After Party:
Extend your Symphony experience and join us at the Round Bar for an after-party immediately following the Saturday evening performance. Dance the night away as you sip specialty cocktails, enjoy free swag, and mingle with Houston Symphony musicians.


There are no upcoming dates for this event.


Kafka’s Dream
I Am Left Alone
The Woman and the Man
Amidst a Clash of Worlds

Piano Concerto in A minor, Opus 16
I. Allegro molto moderato
II. Adagio
III. Allegro moderato molto e marcato


Fontane di Roma (Fountains of Rome), P. 106
I. La fontana di Valle Giulia all’alba (The fountain of the Valle Giulia at dawn)
II. La fontana del Tritone al mattino (Triton Fountain in early morning)
III. La fontana di Trevi al meriggio (Trevi Fountain at midday)
IV. La fontana di Villa Medici al tramonto (The fountain of the Villa Medici at sunset)

Pini di Roma (Pines of Rome), P. 141
I. I pini di Villa Borghese (The Pines of the Villa Borghese)
II. Pini presso una catacomba (Pines Near a catacomb)
III. I pini del Gianicolo (The Pines of the Janiculum)
IV. I pini della via Appia (The Pines of the Appian Way)


2024–25 Subscriptions On Sale Now!

Subscribe today for savings, priority seating, presale access to Yo-Yo Ma, and special perks!