Dvořák’s enchanting Symphony No. 8 invites listeners on a sun-drenched jaunt through nature’s endless charms, and the result is joyous, uplifting, and life-affirming. Surging with youthful fire, tender passion, and thunderous power, Brahms’s Piano Concerto No. 1 looms large as one of music history’s most monumental and stunning creative achievements—all the more amazing that Brahms wrote it at the tender age of 25. Stephen Hough, “a virtuoso who begins where others leave off” (Washington Post) joins Jonathon Heyward and the orchestra, and the concerts open with Carlos’s Simon’s Beethoven-inspired Fate Now Conquers.

Pre-concert Chamber Music Performances: Join us for chamber performances before the start of the concert featuring orchestra musicians Mark Nuccio (clarinet), Christopher French (cello), and Scott Holshouser (piano). The performance features Brahms’s Clarinet Trio and takes place at 7:15 p.m. on Friday and Saturday concert dates and on Sunday at 1:45 p.m. This performance replaces the pre-concert prelude talk.

Buy this concert as part of a Pick Your Own subscription & save >

RUN TIME: 1 hour, 45 minutes
PRICE RANGE: $29 – $109


There are no upcoming dates for this event.


C. SIMON Fate Now Conquers
BRAHMS Piano Concerto No. 1
DVOŘÁK Symphony No. 8


2024–25 Subscriptions On Sale Now!

Subscribe today for savings, priority seating, presale access to Yo-Yo Ma, and special perks!