Exuberance, virtuosity, and color abound in this performance by the critically acclaimed Texas Music Festival Orchestra. 2013 Cliburn Competition gold medalist Vadym Kholodenko joins the young musicians in a performance of Strauss’s youthfully dazzling Burleske for Piano and Orchestra. Stravinsky’s Firebird ballet shot him to worldwide fame, and his Suite (1919) encapsulates all the magic and mystery of its fairy-tale good vs. evil battle. Performed by the Texas Music Festival Orchestra.

Performance does not include the Houston Symphony

TICKETS: This event is general admission, and all tickets are $25.

Buy a ticket to An Alpine Symphony or Salome and receive this concert free!


Jun 8
Saturday, 5:00 PM
at Jones Hall


RICHARD STRAUSS (1864-1949), Burleske in D Minor for Piano and Orchestra – Vadym Kholodenko, piano soloist, Kathrine G. McGovern College of the Arts Distinguished Artist

IGOR STRAVINSKY (1882-1971), The Firebird Suite (1919 version)

I. Introduction — (1882-1971)

The Firebird and its Dance — Variation of the Firebird

II. The Princesses’ Khorovod (Rondo)

III. Infernal Dance of King Kashchei

IV. Lullaby

V. Finale

Performed without intermission


2024–25 Subscriptions On Sale Now!

Subscribe today for savings, priority seating, presale access to Yo-Yo Ma, and special perks!