Ferocious. Provocative. Intoxicating. A century after its riotous premiere, The Rite of Spring’s pounding rhythms, propulsive energy, and sheer sonic impact remain an electrifying experience unlike anything else in all of art. Music Director Juraj Valčuha leads this groundbreaking masterpiece as part of a two-week spotlight on works that scandalized the artistic establishments of their day. Acclaimed pianist Conrad Tao joins the orchestra for Tchaikovsky’s beloved Piano Concerto No. 1, and Revueltas’s evocative Sensemayá opens the concerts.

The Houston Symphony invites Saturday night attendees to stay late for an exclusive Rite of Spring Encore Afterparty from post-performance to midnight. Join DJ Joey Flacco and Houston Symphony musicians for a night of dancing, button making, free swag, and specialty cocktails! Your January 21 ticket to the concert is all you need for entry.

Buy this concert as part of a Pick Your Own subscription & save >

Join us for the Riots & Scandals Festival, Jan. 13–15 + Jan. 20–22, 2023.

RUN TIME: 1 hour, 30 minutes
PRICE RANGE: $30 – $144


There are no upcoming dates for this event.


TCHAIKOVSKY Piano Concerto No. 1
STRAVINSKY The Rite Of Spring


2024–25 Subscriptions On Sale Now!

Subscribe today for savings, priority seating, presale access to Yo-Yo Ma, and special perks!